NIA2 expert advisory panels

Three expert panels are helping inform and challenge the Commission's second National Infrastructure Assessment.

Expert advice

Three specialist groups to help test our emerging conclusions.

The Commission has established three expert advisory panels to support the Commission in the run up to the second National Infrastructure Assessment – one on levelling up, one on net zero, and one on climate resilience.

These will meet regularly until the second National Infrastructure Assessment is published in 2023.

Each of the three panels:

  • offers expert advice and supports analysis
  • contributes new ideas and insights to support recommendations
  • challenges the Commission’s thinking and offers alternative perspectives.

The membership of each panel can be found below.

Levelling up

  • Diane Coyle, Bennett Professor of Public Policy, University of Cambridge
  • John Cridland, former Chair, Transport for the North
  • Sarah Longlands, Chief Executive, Centre for Local Economic Strategies
  • Hanif Kara, Co-Founder and Design Director, AKT II
  • Philip McCann, Chair in Urban and Regional Economics, University of Sheffield
  • Henry Overman, Professor of Economic Geography, London School of Economics
  • Chris Richards, Director of Policy, Institution of Civil Engineers
  • Jessica Rushworth, Chief Strategy and Policy Officer, Digital Catapult
  • Elliot Shaw, Executive Director – Strategy and Planning, Highways England
  • Laura Shoaf, Interim Chief Executive, Transport for the West Midlands
  • Tony Venables, Professor of Economics, University of Manchester
  • Cecilia Wong, Professor of Spatial Planning, University of Manchester
  • Ann Zhang, Chair, NIC Young Professionals Panel

Net zero

  • Nigel Brandon, Chair of the Sustainable Gas Institute, Imperial College London
  • Roz Bulleid, Deputy Policy Director, Green Alliance
  • Sam Fankhauser, Professor of Climate Change Economics and Policy, University of Oxford
  • Rob Gross, Professor of Energy Policy and Technology at Imperial College London, Director of the UK Energy Research Centre
  • Neil Kenward, Director for Strategy and Decarbonisation, Ofgem
  • Madeleine Kessler, Architect and Director, Madeleine Kessler Architecture
  • Cissie Liu, Member, NIC Young Professionals Panel
  • Andrew Morlet, Chief Executive, Ellen MacArthur Foundation
  • Rain Newton-Smith, Chief Economist, CBI
  • Emma Pinchbeck, Chief Executive, Energy UK
  • Jill Rutter, Senior Fellow, Institute for Government
  • Judith Sykes, Senior Director, Expedition Engineering
  • Mike Thompson, Director of Analysis, Climate Change Committee
  • Karen Turner, Director of the Centre for Energy Policy, University of Strathclyde

Climate resilience

  • David Balmforth, Independent consultant and past president of the Institution of Civil Engineers
  • David Black, Chief Executive, Ofwat
  • Caroline Reeson, Member, NIC Young Professionals Panel
  • Sharon Darcy, Director, Sustainability First
  • Richard Dawson, Adaptation Committee member of the Climate Change Committee, Professor of Earth Systems Engineering at Newcastle University
  • Suraje Dessai, Professor of Climate Change Adaptation, University of Leeds
  • Caroline Douglass, Executive Director – Flood and Coastal Risk Management, Environment Agency
  • Alistair Ford, Lecturer in Geospatial Data Analytics and Policy Academy Fellow, Newcastle University
  • Andrew Grant, Founder and Director, Grant Associates
  • Juliet Mian, Deputy Executive Director, Resilience Shift
  • Claire Shrewsbury, Director – Insights and Innovation, WRAP
  • Jean Spencer, Independent Chair, National Water Resources Framework Senior Steering Group
Evidence_Icon_Turquoise Created with Sketch.

Explore data used in the Commission's research, and gain insights from across UK infrastructure

Join our team of professionals supporting the Commission to provide evidence based and forward thinking advice on infrastructure strategy.